Home » New York Film Critics Circle Names ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’ as Best Film of 2023
Entertainment Featured New York News United States

New York Film Critics Circle Names ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’ as Best Film of 2023

The New York Film Critics Circle has named Killers of the Flower Moon as its best film of 2023. The Martin Scorsese-directed movie about the Osage murders was also recognized with the best actress award for star Lily Gladstone.

Oppenheimer and May December each received two awards as well. Christopher Nolan won best director for Oppenheimer, which also picked up a best cinematography award, while May December was recognized with the best screenplay award and best supporting actor for Charles Melton.

Other winners include Passages‘ Franz Rogowski, who was named best actor by the critics group as well as The Holdovers‘ Da’Vine Joy Randolph (best supporting actress), The Boy and the Heron (best animated film), Past Lives (best first film), Anatomy of a Fall (best international film) and Menus Plaisirs — Les Troisgros (best nonfiction film).

Last year, the NYFCC selected Tár as the best picture of 2022.

A complete list of the NYFCC’s 2023 winners follows.

Best Film: Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Director: Christopher Nolan, Oppenheimer
Best Actor: Franz Rogowski, Passages
Best Actress: Lily Gladstone, Killers of the Flower Moon
Best Screenplay: May December
Best Supporting Actor: Charles Melton, May December
Best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers
Best Animated Film: The Boy and the Heron
Best Cinematography: Oppenheimer
Best First Film: Past Lives
Best International Film: Anatomy of a Fall
Best Nonfiction Film: Menus-Plaisirs — Les Troisgros
Special Award: Karen Cooper for her five decades of creative leadership as director of Film Forum

Founded in 1935, the organization’s membership includes critics from daily newspapers, weekly newspapers, magazines and qualifying online general-interest publications. Every year in December, the group meets in New York to vote on awards for the previous calendar year’s films.

In addition to the regular categories, which include best picture, director, actor and actress, special standalone awards are given to individuals and organizations that have made substantial contributions to the art of cinema, including producers, directors, actors, writers, critics, historians, film restorers and service organizations.

The awards will be handed out in New York in January.

Source : The Hollywood Reporter



Ohio Miner is a global leader in the online news. We seek to inform and engage with our readers. Staffed 24 hours, seven days a week by a dedicated team around the globe, we deliver news from journalists around the world. We are contrarian truth-seekers and truthtellers. We are journalists united by a mission to inform and engage with our readers.

We bear witness to history as it unfolds and explain not just what happened, why it happened and what it means to our readers and the public.

We are contrarian, we are committed to the news, speaking truth to power.